No Lie, This Was Great

If you're in the mood for a contemporary mystery/thriller, look no further!

One Of Us is Lying markets itself as "The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars", and that's pretty accurate. You've got the jock, the nerd, the princess, and the bad boy. What brings these high-school students together? A murder investigation in which they are all suspects.


This novel uses rotating perspectives so we get a glimpse of each character and what they're going through. I had a little trouble in the beginning keeping track of the shifting perspectives, but once I got to know the characters better I really appreciated that I got to hear from all of them. Also, this is a book that is self-aware of the character tropes it plays into before totally dismantling those tropes in the interests of character development.


All in all, there was some great suspense, authentic characters, and surprising plot twists. Super fast, darkly entertaining read. Bonus news! The next book in this series (One of Us is Next) will be out in January 2020, so you can read this one and dive right in to the next. I would recommend this for fans of Maureen Johnson, Courtney Summers, or the Pretty Little Liars series. #teenreads #mystery #thriller #contemporary #crime #suspense #series

9 views

© 2020 VALLEY COTTAGE LIBRARY ∙ 110 Route 303

Valley Cottage, NY 10989

Phone: 845-268-7700

Fax: 845-268-7760

Email us